About the National Honor Society

The National Honor Society (NHS) elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These four pillars have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1921. 
  • Scholarship denotes a commitment to learning, devoting time and energy to cultivating the mind. Even when formal education has ended, human education only ends with the end of life. Candidates have the charge to continually expand their world through scholarship.
  • Leadership means having the self-confidence to go forward when others hesitate, yielding one's self-interest to influence the classroom, school, community, and nation.
  • Service should be established as a routine in the day's work where opportunities arise to help others at school and in the community, without monetary reward ro public recognition.We serve to create a better tomorrow.
  • Character is achieved by daily striving to make the right choices of thought and action.We must be in reality what we wish to appear to others. Respect, responsibility, trustworthiness, fairness, caring, and citizenship are how we demonstrate character.
Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities. NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, US Territories, Canada, and around the world. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

2020 National Honor Society Inductees

Congratulations to the newest inductees into the National Honor Society.

These inductees join the current members in meeting the scholarship standards for membership in Linsly’s Guy E. Holden Chapter:  a 95% average for sophomores,  a 93% average for juniors, and  92% for seniors. 


Lee Cartwright
Samm Du
Chance Knight
Joel Nau
John Rose
Josh Schultz
Tara Theaker
Amanda Thomas
Yiping William Yuan
Frank Xia


Emily Coram
Heidy Duran
Madison Doughty
Mariah Doughty
Liza Fletcher
Sydney Glessner
Cole Grimm
Molly Heron
Shane McCready
Matthew Rodenberg
Jadelyn Smerczynski
Justin Weiser-Jokovich
Yongjie Jay Zhang


Emily Bench
Danyelle Dunlevy
George Donovic
Kin Dai
Rachel Ekanem
Juanita LaRotta Garcia
Liaoyuan Han
Madison Hennen
Marlee Johns
Grace Landini
Alex Lehrke
Steven Liu
Brodie Selmon
Zoe Tsikouris
Theo Zervos
Conner Zhang